MSCD congratulates all winners at TTOC Awards

“We can choose to remember this year as an epic catastrophe, or, the year humanity rebelled with tremendous adaptability.” This was the salient message from Ms. Beverly Reid-Samuel, Acting Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Sport and Community Development, during her address at last evening’s 26th Annual Awards ceremony by the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC).

In congratulating the TTOC and all athletes, she stated that “this awards ceremony is that much more important. It is a statement that the training and aspirations of our athletes matter.” She thanked all athletes for digging deeper to find the mental fortitude to continue training, for devising creative ways to keep fit, and for remaining focused despite reduced competitions and sponsorship. “Having the right attitude is already half the work done for 2021.”

Ms. Reid-Samuel urged athletes to fly our flag high next year. In the midst of COVID-19, she said that their participation in tournaments will give the rest of the country a much needed boost in our spirits.

Ms. Reid-Samuel concluded by reiterating the Ministry’s support to sports and the TTOC -“The Ministry will continue to work assiduously to construct new training facilities whilst refurbishing existing ones. Our new alignment with Community Development will see community sports and capacity building flourish, which translates to an expanded pool of sporting talent. This is our Ministry’s long term vision; to better harness talent at the community level. We are certain that the TTOC shares our vision and will collaborate with us on related endeavours.” 

Other speakers at last evening’s event included Her Excellency Paula Mae Weekes, TTOC President Brian Lewis, and Feature Address speaker Kenwin Jones.

The MSCD congratulates the following awardees:

-Sports Personality -Aisha Chow (rowing)

-Junior Sportsman – Nikoli Blackman (swimming) 

-People’s Choice Award & Junior Sportswoman -Abigail Viera (skiing) 

-Future is Female Award – Samantha Wallace (netball)

-Senior Sportsman Award – Dylan Carter (swimming)

-Senior Sportswoman -Teniel Campbell (cycling)

-Alexander B Chapman Award – Nigel Grosvenor 


Abigail Viera, Junior Sportswoman of the Year

TTOC President Brian Lewis during his address


Nikolai Blackman, Junior Sportsman of the Year


Ms. Beverly Reid-Samuel, Acting Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Sport and Community Development during her address